Home / Hercules


Hercules & The 12 Labours

Hercules has always been seen as one of the greatest heroes in existence. Today he is seen in an ill light, often regarded as an oaf, where braun rules over brains. However, it was not always that way, and he was seen for a long time as the perfect model for a Greek male. This is due to the evolution of his character across his twelve labours. Each is a step toward a higher state of being which we will explore in the chapters below.

Hercules Before The Labours
Hercules Labour I: The Nemean Lion
Hercules Labour II: The Ler­naian Hydra
Hercules Labour III: The Cerynitian Deer
Hercules Labour IV: The Erymanthian Boar
Hercules Labour V: The Cattle of Augeias
Hercules Labour VI: The Stymphalian Birds
Hercules Labour VII: The Cretan Bull
Hercules Labour VIII: The Mares of Diomedes
Hercules Labour IX: The War-Belt of Hippolyte
Hercules Labour X: The Cattle of Geryones
Hercules Labour XI: The Apples of the Hesperides
Hercules Labour XII: Cerberos

This series is from my book Hercules: Greek Mythology Explained, if you found the articles helpful then sign up for a free copy or check it out at Amazon.